Parish Council


Papcastle Parish Council has activated its High Consequences Infectious Diseases Policy in order to continue to operate as an effective council. See the Policy below:




This is the first tier of local government and is within the area of Allerdale Borough Council (a District Council).  It is one of some 7,800 such councils in England – town councils are the same as parish councils for the purposes of the law –the Local Government Act of 1972 defines this.

Current moves may well see changes in the responsibilities of parish councils, if such as the present county and district councils in Cumbria become a unitary authority.

Note that the civil parish of Papcastle falls within the ecclesiastical parish of Bridekirk which covers a much wider area and has a Parochial Church Council to administer its affairs.  This has nothing to do with the civil Parish Council

The size of the council is set by the district council and is currently nine for Papcastle.

Council members are elected every four years, in May [2011,2015, etc]  Notices calling for nominations are placed in various locations in the parish. To be eligible, candidates must be age 21 or over, British citizens or citizens of the Irish Republic, an elector of the parish or during the whole of the 12 months before nomination, have occupied land as tenant or owner or have resided in the parish or within 3 miles of it.

Members absent for six consecutive meetings, forfeit their position as a parish councillor unless the reason for absence is approved by the council.

Present members (with the date when they originally joined the council) are

Name    Date

Mr. J. D. Johnson             (1983) Chairman

Mr. R. B. Jackson              (1983)

Mr. B. R. Merris                (1999)

Mrs. J. Day          (2005)

Mr. I. Trohear    (2007)

Mrs. J Coyle        (2011)

Dr.H. Morgan   (co-opted 2015)

Mr. J. Conlon  (co-opted 2017)

Seven candidates were elected unopposed, with two co-options made at the Annual Meeting on 19 May 2015.

The Clerk to the Council is: Mrs B.Lamb, Sunningdale, Distington, Workington, Cumbria.